QA says, “Thank you very much”

Few days back, J. O’Conner blogged about his recent experience with the NetBeans Community, and calling himself a proud member.

I’ve always known that I’m a NetBeans user, but I would never have gone so far as to call myself a community member. I feel differently after this experience though. I’m glad to be part of the NetBeans community. If you use NetBeans, you’re part of the community too!

Wow 🙂 Later that day, I got an email from NetBeans QA Team and I also had similar experience. Here’s what QA said,

In the past you have taken the time to report issues that you encountered while using the NetBeans IDE. As you may be aware already, a new version NetBeans IDE 6.5 has just been released.

We’d like to inform you that the following issues you reported have been addressed in the new version;

Aug 28, 2008

Three months back, I had blogged NetCAT 6.5 Weekly Report #6, where I had said,

Actually, when bugs filed by a user get fixed, they are not visible in My Issues, which is different for every user.

Nov 25, 2008

This day, when I received the mail and found out that, NetBeans QA Team had fixed 8 bugs filed by me during the development phase of NetBeans 6.5 and NetCAT Program.

We really appreciate your contribution to help us make NetBeans IDE (Platform, Java SE, Java Web and EE, Java ME, Ruby, C/C++, PHP, SOA) better for you as well as for other users. We look forward to receiving feedback from you in the future.

Wow, thats indeed a great way to notify the user, I mean community member. Happy NetBeaning!

“Thank you very much”

2 thoughts on “QA says, “Thank you very much”

  1. Hi Varun! As Roman pointed out in a comment over on The Observatory, I have left Sun. But I am still a big fan of NetBeans! I also really like receiving those “We really appreciate your contribution” emails after each release. It helps me stay motivated to continue reporting bugs. 🙂

  2. Hey Gregg,
    Good to see you back after a long time. Its good to hear that you’re still an ardent fan of NetBeans.. Thanks for getting back in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

