One Year of NetBeaning!

Welcome to NetBeans.org

[…]

As a registered member of www.netbeans.org, you can:

– Join projects and contribute
– Read project news and announcements
– Join project mailing lists
– View project files and documents
– Browse project source code
– Search project issue databases
[…]

This is an excerpt from a mail I got when I joined NetBeans Community, same day last year. So, its first anniversary of my involvement with the NetBeans Community.

Before Sep 26..

I had just started off blogging, and was getting used to this amazing technology, i.e. to maintain a log of anything you want to. Initially, due to excitement, started using it for various things, and finally, settling down with technologies, programming, etc.

It was my 5th semester, and I had no projects which involved C, C++, Java (A dull semester, isn’t It?). I have passion for programming, and I was craving to get my fingers running on keyboard, to start writing some code😉 As I had been doing for the past 3-4 years (School, University Level) So, I was looking for opportunities to continue to live with my passion.

Also, during that semester, winds of FOSS had started to blow in our university, and a Linux Club was formed, soon I became a member of this club, and learnt that Linux is an Operating System developed by a community of people (diverse culture, different time zones), distributed all over the world.

Sep 26, 2007

The day I came to know about Code for Freedom Contest and got registered. Then, I looked at the communities to choose from, and I selected NetBeans, as I knew about NetBeans only😀

So, I went to register into the community, and then I got the mail I have shown you above. There’s one more section of that mail, interesting one!

Get Involved

There are many ways you can get involved in the
NetBeans project, from submitting screenshots, writing up a tip,
helping to moderate a mailing list, writing translations, right
through to bugfixing and contributing code.  Learn how at
http://www.netbeans.org/community/contribute/index.html.

After Sep 26..

Few days later, I went to JNU Campus, New Delhi for my first ever FOSS Event visits, as a member of Linux Club (having minimal knowledge about Linux).

Talks on NetBeans, Virtual Box, Qt, etc. made me feel excited about Open Source. So, I thought I can make best use of this freedom I got, to do what I wanted to do, programming!

Joining LUG, visiting freed.in and participated in CFF, I had Gone with the Wind, and then, followed series of events that changed my life, and made me more aware of the technologies and the industry practices.

Code For Freedom

So, I looked for various ways as mentioned before, on how to contribute and as bug fixing, patches looked to be tough. I opted for writing documentation instead, it was not that easy for me, as it looked like initially.

It took me two months to get started with the contest and I wrote my first ever documentation, and then there was no looking back, as I grew in confidence while blogging about technologies, and participating in mailing lists, it helped me improve my writing skills.

NetBeans Community Docs, Weblogs

It seriously did, as I had to interact with so many professional people on mailing lists, so I had to be good at it, so as to express myself in a right manner.

Eventually, I became coordinator of community documentation project (NBCD), runner-up in an international blogging contest.

Along with James and Amit, we took this project way beyond everyone’s expectations. More information on my experience with this amazing documentation project, you may continue reading here- https://nbguru.wordpress.com/community-docs/

Blogosphere

Today, I still write 3 technology blogs, after leaving one of the blogs I had started off with.

More..

You can have a look at my awards and achievements over the past 1 year, and all are related to my contribution to the NetBeans Project.

All of them are special, and to pick out some of them would be tough, still I would pick those, which were sort of decisions I had to take, which made my life-

I was asked to join NetBeans Community Docs Team, I was invited to join the NetBeans Dream Team, I had applied for NetCAT 6.5 and I took part in 2 International Blogging Contests.

Today

I hold various positions in the community, I am Dzone’s Most Valued Blogger, NetBeans Community Docs Coordinator and NetBeans Dream Team Member.

Also, I celebrate my 1st year of being the community member, so as Roman Strobl used to say on NetBeans Podcasts, Happy NetBeaning!

Guys, its pleasure working with you all, and I would like to be a part of Open Source phenomena for the coming years as well. Time to get back on Wiki, Gmail and Blogging!

Welcome again and thanks for registering with www.netbeans.org!

11 thoughts on “One Year of NetBeaning!

  1. Congratulations.. we going hand in hand except the fact that.. my technological aspect is nil.😦
    anywz.. keep up the good work

  2. Хорошо что удалось отыскать такой замечательный блог, и тем более отлично, что есть такие толковые авторы!. Спасибо Вам

    Translated to English- “Well that was able to find a great blog, and even more so perfectly that there are explanatory authors!. Thank you”

Leave a Reply

