dotNet – Code Completion – NetBeans

Code Completion, Intellisense…

These are some jargons which I came across, when I started working on C# using Visual Studio 2003 .NET! It was then I got familiarize with Intellisense.

At that time, it looked like the coolest thing which a developer could have ever dreamt of. I was adept at using Turbo C/C++ Borland IDE, before switching over to .NET temporarily.

I would never ever thought in my wildest of dreams, that I would come across such brilliance. During that time, I came across another IDE, NetBeans 5.5, as I was not happy to use J# supported by .NET, it was really disappointing! So, I tried various softwares before finalizing NetBeans for my 1st ever Java-based project.

I tried JCreator and Eclipse before trying out NetBeans. The reason why I not choose Eclipse isn’t relevant to discuss here. If you have interest in reading about it, refer to my NetBeans Testimonial (see Varun Nischal).

dotNet –

Till date, I have never regretted using Intellisense, which is beautifully supported by .NET Framework, its really excellent tool to use, sometimes I make switch to dotNet, just to use this feature, which really helps me code fast and intelligently.

NetBeans –

They named it Code Completion, I used to regret using it and it was so slow too, while Intellisense was quick! Over the past 1 year, with the release of NetBeans 6.0 and 6.1, there has been tremendous improvement, esp. 6.1 which has really improved a lot! Latest performance enhancements have lead to smarter parsing, which enables faster code completion. So, they are moving in the right direction.

Current Status –

I recently used dotNet 2008, I was really surprised that they too have improved speed of the Intellisense, its fast and furious…
Even though, NetBeans have shown improvement in that context, still there’s some distance left to cover, before they can give competition to Intellisense.

Note –
These are my views, as programmer and its upto you to take it seriously or not, but during this series of blogs, I won’t be bias, yet would be fair to both. Its not meant to degrade certain IDE’s image.

eNjoy Technology…

This is being submitted for review to the blogging contest – Student Reviews NetBeans 6.1 and OpenSolaris!
Author – Varun Nischal, University – JIIT University

Add to Technorati Favorites

2 thoughts on “dotNet – Code Completion – NetBeans

  1. Pingback: Submissions | Student Reviews Contest « NetBeans Guru

  2. Varun,You must probably checkout the intellisense available in VS2010 …It’s even more furious than ever before which is why I feel extremely uncomfortable working in JAVA. 🙂

    Easy for JAVA developers to jump to C#…but tough for C# developers to jump to JAVA mainly because of the comfy ride with Visual Studio IDE.

Leave a Reply

