The day I began writing docs…

Namastey,

You have all seen me blogging for more than a year now. Some people call me crazy, avid, passionate and/or highly active (hyper-active) blogger ;) Then, there were some who didn’t even bother reading my blogs OR commented negatively.

I never mind as I blog because I had developed an interest in it which made me passionate for blogging. Too, it helped me improve my writing skills, as last year I was new to blogging.

You might be surprised to know, but I was runner-up in an International Blogging Contest (June, 2008). Also, for the past several months, I have been writing 3 blogs:)

2007- 13th Dec

I started writing my first ever documentation for the community. I had no experience in writing at such level. By the time, I finished writing the document using their online wiki engine, it was midnight. Yes, Dec 14th- my birthday. So, coincidentally, I wrote my first ever documentation on my birthday :) I realized this fact few days back while restructuring the community contributed docs archive!

2008- 1st May

I became NetBeans Community Docs (Contribution) Coordinator and I was feeling lucky to have got this opportunity to showcase my skills to the world through this wonderful platform. I thought its going to be easy, as I had closely followed Amit (K. Saha) while he was holding this position.

When I actually stepped into his shoes, they were really big. So, I realized, even though it looked very easy from contributor’s perspective, it isn’t. I had a tough time initially, when I invited people and they never responded.

Then, came a rough patch from May 22nd (since we reached 150 docs), I was finding it difficult to get new people to contribute. James (Branam) got a blogger whose 2 blog entries were converted to docs, initiating the counter for the month of June.

Entering final week of June, still 4 docs up there. It was definitely not a good position to be in. Around the same time, I was creating NetBeans Module (along with Jay) to take snapshots from within the IDE. I had to tweak the XML Layer a lot for registering Actions.

This made me write 8 docs (record was held for 5 months) within 3 days and contributed them on single day within that week. Position looked much better than it was and we had now got 12 docs. Still, 2-3 days were left and I interacted with my fellow blogging contest participants to contribute docs, they did.

Eventually, we ended up having 16 docs ;) It was like rising from the ashes. I think I really did that, as this made me more determined and dedicated to help the community, as well as the project to strive forward. Along with James, we took the program to new heights. 150-200 in just 2 months!

2008- 13th Dec

Yesterday, I started making this post, and by the time I ended publishing it, it was midnight. I hope you might have realized by know, that its my birthday today. I am 21 years old ;)

I had a wonderful year with NetBeans Community Docs Program, beginning as an active poster on their mailing lists, contributing documentations and finally, becoming Coordinator.

I have been maintaining a web page since April, where I have listed all the events that took place since I took over the position on May 1st. Its actually much more than that, it has complete information of how I got started and what all happened. Initiatives that I took, launching newsletters, exclusive interview and lot more.

Thank You!

I would like to take this opportunity to thank NetBeans Community Docs Team, NetBeans Dream Team Members, NetCAT Participants, Sun Technical Writers, as well as Engineers and Heroes (i.e. everyone who has contributed a documentation) for their love & support.

I really appreciate all those wonderful comments/compliments I got from community members for my services. Special thanks to James Branam and Amit K. Saha.