Plugins got verified for 6.0!

June 04, 2008

Geertjan blogged on the new features of Plugin Portal- Verification, Email Notifications, Plugin Manager, etc.

June 20-24, 2008

Almost 3 weeks later, Geertjan blogged about his first plugin to officially get into the Plugin Manager for NetBeans 6.1

Also, during that time, Jay and I decided to first upload our first ever plugin made for the community, and then requested the Plugin Verifiers to evaluate the plugin for NetBeans 6.0

Soon after, verification failed due to lack of license, then I referred Geertjan’s blog to get it done.

June 27, 2008

Jay and I, blogged on the events that were taking place during that time, as I was in the process of writing blogs for a blog series (based on XML Layer). So, the snapshots used in blog series were taken with the help of the plugin we developed.

July 24, 2008

Almost 1 month later, I had blogged about a new plugin that I had created in July, got inspired from the existing plugin at Plugin Portal, and Tutorial based on that plugin. This was enough for me to get motivated and work towards enhancing the plugin, and I did.

Thanks to Geertjan for the approval to work on the revision of tutorial, as well as the plugin. Eventually, I ended up writing a lengthy tutorial as well ;) Later on, reposted on the NetBeans Zone [Dzone].

Then, I requested for this plugin to get verified for 6.0 as well. I was glad to have uploaded Snap It earlier as this time there were no issues, it was only a matter of time.

October 27, 2008

Few months later, I received mails from nbadmin, notifying that- both the plugins got majority votes in favour of publishing the modules in the Plugin Portal Update Center for NetBeans 6.0!

May 31, 2009 (Downloads Update)

Recently, I received mails from nbadmin, notifying the current status of the plugin’s and you can see the numeric changes in the “download details” of respective plugin’s. M (+N) means that there has been an increase of N downloads from previous total (M-N) and now, total is M downloads.

FYI, I have committed source code for one of the plugin’s (Revamped Hyperlink Navigation) mentioned in this blog below. I did this long time back, i.e. on January 09, 2009.  I have created a project at Project Kenai and have committed sources there. For more details, refer this forum post of my project.

Brief Overview of the Modules

Snap It

We named the plugin as “Snap It”;

Its a plugin that enables you to take screenshots from within the IDE. Basically, it tries to emulate the “Take Screenshot” Utility, bundled with almost every Ubuntu Distro. Hey, I saw it on OpenSolaris 2008.05 as well.

Plugin Details

Rating: 3/5 || Downloads: 252 (+77) || Comments: 3

Verified for 6.0


Revamped Hyperlink Navigation

This plugin was inspired by the already existing plugin (made by Geertjan);

Its a project sample showing how to create hyperlinks in the HTML editor. Not for Schliemann! This is an improved, revised HREF implementation of the standard Editor Hyperlinking API for providing better navigation.

Plugin Details

Rating: 3/5 || Downloads: 117 (+41) || Comments: 0

Verified for 6.0

See Also

3 thoughts on “Plugins got verified for 6.0!

  1. Pingback: The day I began writing docs… « N, Varun

  2. Pingback: Project with Kenai and I « N, Varun

  3. Pingback: NBM | Snap Active Window « PrayogShala

Leave a Reply

